St Wulstan's Catholic Primary School

We come to school to Love, Learn and Share in the Light of Jesus

Church Lane, Wolstanton, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire. ST5 0EF

01782 973722

The National Curriculum

State schools in England must teach a range of subjects according to targets set by the National Curriculum.

This was established in 1989 and revised in 2014 to ensure the same standards of teaching and learning across the nation.

The National Curriculum covers learning for all children aged 5-16 in state schools, and sets out:

  • which subjects should be taught
  • the knowledge, skills and understanding your child should achieve in each subject (according to your child’s age)
  • targets – so teachers can measure how well your child is doing in each subject
  • how information on your child’s progress should be passed on to you

Please click on the subject link below to read the National Curriculum for that subject.

What are the Key Stages?

The National Curriculum is divided into four Key Stages that children are taken through during their school life. For example, Key Stage 1 is taught during Years 1 and 2 of primary school. Targets defined in the National Curriculum are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.

The four Key Stages

Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6
Key Stage 3 Ages 11-14 Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4 Ages 14-16 Years 10 and 11
What are programmes of study?

Programmes of study set out what teachers should cover in every subject during each Key Stage.

There are also four general teaching requirements, which apply across all subjects.

Teachers should:

  • use language effectively
  • use information and communication technology (ICT) effectively
  • follow health and safety guidelines
  • provide teaching that includes different ethnic minority viewpoints